I woke up at 5 a.m. this morning. I dragged myself out of bed after hitting the snooze button twice. I grabbed a towel and had a hot shower. Once finished, I wrapped myself in my bathrobe, crawled back to my room to do my makeup, and I got dressed for school.

An hour later and I was at my backdoor putting my winter jacket and boots on. I opened my door to be greeted by a blast of frigid air. My hair was still wet from my shower, and by the time I finished the 10 second walk to my car it was frozen solid. As I sat miserable in my freezing car I couldn’t help but reminisce about a warmer time. That brings me to this blog post. I wanted to share some photos from a warmer time earlier this year. I hope these photos help you escape the cold for a few minutes.

All of these photos were taken at the Assiniboine Park Zoo this past summer.

butterfly

 

butterfly 2

 

IMG_9351

(3 Photos Above) The butterflies in the Shirley Richardson Butterfly Garden.

toucan ridge

Toucan Ridge

pelicans water

A spot for the pelicans to rest.

yak?

The Yak Corral